WHEN THE BOUGH BREAKS The true story of child killer Kathleen Folbigg

Author: Benns (Matthew)
Year: 2003
Publisher: Bantam
Edition Details: 1st Australian Edn.
Book Condition: F.
ISBN: 9781863254236
Price: 15.00
Paperback. Caleb, Patrick, Sarah and Laura Folbigg died one by one over a 10yr period in similar circumstances - suddenly, unexpectedly and while sleeping. Each baby was discovered by Kathleen, their mother, who raised the alarm to her husband, Craig, that they were not breathing. When the Folbigg's marriage fell apart six weeks after the death of their 4th child, Laura, Craig was devastated. It only got worse when he discovered Kathleen's diary in her bedside drawer. Horrified at his wife's ramblings about losing control with the children, her 'terrible thoughts' and her fears that she was her 'father's daughter', he took the diary to the police. The diary was the crucial evidence Detective Bernie Ryan had been searching for to confirm his suspicions that the babies had been murdered. With his career and credibility on the line, he made the decision to charge Kathleen Folbigg with the murder of her four innocent babies. No one who knew Kathleen could believe she had murdered her own children. Yet few knew of her tragic past - the fact that her own father had stabbed her mother to death three decades earlier. The author exposes the secret life of Australia's worst convicted female serial killer, a woman jailed for the unthinkable crime of killing her own children. The book raises important issues about parents who do not feel emotionally attached to their children and about the diagnosis of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome as a cause of death. Illus. 321pp. p/back. From the library of true crime writer, Wilfred Gregg, with his personal b/plate. F. with no creasing to covers.


Browse Catalogue


Login/My Account




About Us

Contact Us